Guide
What happens if you can’t pay a cash advance back
Checked against the sources below on 2026-10-18.
In short: Most cash advance apps say they charge no late fees and don’t report to credit bureaus, but a failed repayment can still cost you: a debit that bounces can trigger your own bank’s fees, and some apps won’t give you another advance until the last one is repaid. A few products are loans that charge late interest. Check what your app’s terms say below.
What each app’s own terms say
Quoted or summarized from each company’s published terms and help center. Click an app for its full page and sources.
| App | Late fees, interest, collections | How repayment is taken |
|---|---|---|
| Albert | Albert's Terms say there is no credit check, late fees or interest for an Instant Advance. The Instant line of credit is different: its repayment article says late fees may apply. | Instant Advances are due 6 days after you take them, and you can ask in the app for an extension of up to 7 days. They are repaid from Smart money deposits (which pull money from your linked bank account) or by manual payment, and Albert may set off balances from your other Albert accounts. If repaid late, access to new advances can be suspended for 30 to 90 days or more. The advance is non-recourse: Albert says it will not use debt collection or report to credit bureaus. |
| Brigit | Brigit says it has no late fees or penalties. The Terms say repayment is voluntary and Brigit has no legal claim for unpaid advances. | Brigit automatically withdraws the advance plus any optional fee on the due date chosen when you request the advance. The Terms also allow a debit any time after the due date when money comes into the account, partial debits if the full amount fails, and retries on other authorized payment methods. You can push the due date back with an extension credit (the help center says two to three business days before it is due). If you don't repay, Brigit suspends future advances but says it will not use debt collection or report to credit bureaus. |
| Cash App Borrow | Overdue Interest: 1.25% per week, non-compounding, on the unpaid amount financed, starting 7 days after the due date and continuing weekly until paid. Help center says Borrow is not reported to credit bureaus regardless of payment status, but late payments may affect future eligibility; the loan agreement says the Bank 'may report information about your loan to credit bureaus'. | Repay as you receive cash, in weekly installments, or all at once. Any balance outstanding on the final due date is automatically deducted from your Cash balance or linked debit card; after default, payments may continue to be taken from your Cash balance until paid. |
| Chime SpotMe and MyPay | SpotMe: Chime does not charge interest or fees; failure to repay does not affect your credit, but a negative balance not repaid within 90 days may lead to suspension of the Chime Checking Account and after 120 days the account may be closed. MyPay: no interest (APR 0%) and no penalty or late fee for not paying by the Due Date; non-payment is Default, which can end advances and close the MyPay account; the agreement says the debt will not be referred to a third-party debt collector. | SpotMe: the negative balance is repaid automatically from your next direct deposit or other deposit, whichever is sooner. MyPay: Chime debits your Chime Checking Account for outstanding advances when your qualifying deposit arrives, by your Estimated Pay Date. |
| Cleo | Cleo says you will never pay interest on a cash advance, and its App Store disclosure lists no late fees. | Cleo takes the money automatically from your connected card or account on the repayment date you chose (3 to 14 days after the advance). If a payment fails for insufficient funds, Cleo either collects smaller partial amounts over the following days (if you opted in to Partial Repayments) or keeps trying for the full amount while your debit authorization is active. You may be able to extend the date in the app. |
| DailyPay | No interest or late fees described. The program is described as non-recourse: if the employer does not pay DailyPay, the worker owes nothing, and DailyPay says it will not collect from the worker's accounts, use debt collection, sell the amount, or report to a consumer reporting agency. | After your first transfer, DailyPay sets itself as the direct deposit account of record with your employer. On payday your employer sends the paycheck to DailyPay, which deducts transfers and fees made during the pay period and sends the rest to your Primary Bank Account. |
| Dave | Dave says ExtraCash has no interest and no late fees, and late settlements do not add late fees or affect credit. | The settlement date is set around your next payday or the nearest Friday. Dave settles automatically, trying Dave Checking first, then the linked debit card, then the external bank account by ACH. If there is not enough money, Dave takes partial amounts and tries again later. ExtraCash is described as repayable on demand, and you cannot take more ExtraCash until the balance is settled. |
| EarnIn | No interest and no credit check per EarnIn's product page. The Cash Out User Agreement says no fees are required except optional Lightning Speed fees, and that there is no obligation to repay; it does not list late fees. | On payday EarnIn automatically debits the linked bank account for the amount transferred plus any tips and fees. You can ask support to reschedule by 8 a.m. PT at least one business day before the debit. If a Cash Out is not repaid, EarnIn blocks further Cash Outs until it is paid, but its agreement says it will not use debt collection, sell the debt or report to credit bureaus. |
| FloatMe | No interest and no late fees. Floats are nonrecourse: FloatMe says it has no legal claim against you for non-repayment, will not use debt collection or sell the debt, and will not report you to a consumer reporting agency. You cannot get another Float while any amount is unpaid. | Each Float is repaid in a single payment on the Repayment Date you choose or confirm, debited by ACH or debit card together with any Instant Float Fee. FloatMe starts the ACH debit the business day before the Repayment Date. If a payment fails it may retry by ACH or debit card, and it will not re-initiate a returned ACH debit more than two times. Only one Float at a time. |
| Klover | Klover says there is no interest and no late fees, and its advances are non-recourse. | Klover may charge your bank account or debit card for the advance and any fee after it sees a paycheck deposit or on the date you selected. If collection fails, its payment processor keeps retrying; Klover's help center says it will not overdraft your account. You can revoke payment authorization at any time (three business days' notice recommended), but your account is paused until the balance is resolved. Klover says it will not use debt collection or report to credit bureaus. |
| MoneyLion | MoneyLion says Instacash has no interest and no mandatory fees and is not reported to credit bureaus. The help center does not list late fees; an unpaid balance blocks new advances until it is repaid. | Repayment is debited automatically on a date set from your predicted direct deposit, from your linked debit card, MoneyLion Spend or the linked outside bank account. If funds are short, MoneyLion first tries a partial repayment and keeps trying until the balance is paid. You may move the date in the app, or defer once per cycle by up to two weeks through chat. You can revoke the debit authorization with at least three business days' notice. |
| Payactiv | No interest or late fee is described on Payactiv's public pages. Amounts accessed are deducted from your next paycheck through payroll. | "Money you access is automatically deducted from your next paycheck and shows as a line item on your pay stub." |
| Possible Finance | Possible says it charges no late fees or penalty fees. Each payment can be rescheduled up to 29 days from its original date without a fee; payments more than 29 days past due are reported late to the credit bureaus, and loans in default may be sent to collections. | Payments are scheduled on or near your paydays and are typically taken automatically from your linked bank account; you can also pay manually by debit card or bank account in the app. The borrowing fee is divided equally across the four payments. |
| Tilt (formerly Empower) | Tilt says there is no interest and no late fees, and advances are non-recourse (no collections and no credit reporting). | Tilt withdraws the advance plus any delivery fee from your linked checking account (by ACH or the linked debit card) on your forecasted payday. If there is not enough money, Tilt may withdraw small amounts until the balance is repaid, or the full amount once funds are available. You can ask to change the date by contacting support (by 3 PM PT one business day before). Tilt says it reimburses overdraft fees caused by its own repayment attempts, and you cannot get another advance until the prior one is repaid. |
| Varo Advance | No interest (agreement APR for Varo Advances: 0.00%) and no late fees. If not repaid by the 30-day final due date, any balance is deducted from incoming deposits to your Varo accounts or linked external account until repaid, and you may lose eligibility. Varo's footnote says negative repayment history may impact credit; the agreement allows default remedies including collection. | Choose an autopay date 15-30 days after the advance (excluding weekends and federal holidays) or repay manually in the app. Repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account; if unpaid by the 30-day final due date, Varo deducts the balance from incoming deposits to your authorized accounts. |
Costs that can come from your bank, not the app
Most apps collect by debiting your bank account or taking the money from your next deposit. If the account doesn’t have enough in it when the debit runs, your own bank may charge an overdraft or returned-payment fee. The CFPB’s explainer on overdraft: CFPB: What is an overdraft?.
If you can see a repayment coming that you can’t cover
- Check in the app whether you can move the repayment date. Some apps let you; the rules are in each app’s terms.
- If a bill is what’s squeezing you, asking that company for a payment plan or a few days may cost less than another advance. See cheaper options.
- Taking a new advance from a second app to repay the first adds a second set of fees. Use the calculator to see what both would cost together.
Next
Sources
- Albert's Terms of Use (last updated October 15, 2026)
- Albert Help: How do I repay cash advances?
- Brigit Help: Does Brigit charge late fees or penalties?
- Brigit Terms of Service
- SFS Borrow Loan Agreement (Effective December 2, 2025)
- Cash App Borrow page (incl. FAQ and footnotes)
- MyPay Agreement (The Bancorp Bank), effective 06/2026
- SpotMe Terms and Conditions (The Bancorp Bank), effective 04/2026
- Cleo FAQ: Will I pay interest on my cash advance?
- Cleo FAQ: How do I repay my cash advance?
- DailyPay On-Demand Pay Program Terms (Last updated June 3, 2026)
- DailyPay Help: What happens on payday now that I'm with DailyPay?
- Dave Help: How does ExtraCash work?
- Dave Help: What happens on the settlement date?
- EarnIn Cash Out User Agreement
- EarnIn Help: How do I pay EarnIn back?
- FloatMe Terms and Conditions (Last Revised September 1, 2026)
- Klover cash advance page
- Klover Terms & Conditions (last updated July 14, 2026)
- MoneyLion Help: What is Instacash?
- MoneyLion Help: Repaying Instacash
- Payactiv for employees (How it works)
- Possible Help: Understanding Late Payments
- Possible Help: Loan Repayment Information
- Tilt Cash Advance page (footnotes)
- Tilt Terms of Service (last updated August 19, 2026)
- Varo cash advance page (incl. FAQ and footnotes)
- Varo Help: Varo Advance Payments
- CFPB: What is an overdraft?
- CFPB handout: Know your overdraft options
Checked 2026-10-18. Information only, not financial or legal advice.