Bank account feature · Borrow
Cash App Borrow: what it costs and what the record shows
Cash App Borrow is a short-term closed-end loan from Square Financial Services offered inside Cash App, from $20 up to a personal limit (advertised up to $500), deposited to your Cash balance. Each loan has a one-time flat fee shown before you accept; if unpaid after the due date a $5 fee and 1.25% weekly overdue interest can apply.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
Cash App Borrow does not publish every fee we would need to price a $100 advance, so we don’t show an APR. What it does publish is below.
- What it is
- Bank account feature
- Who runs it
- Loans issued and serviced by Square Financial Services, Inc. (FDIC-insured Utah industrial bank); Cash App is a Block, Inc. brand
- Most you can get
- Borrow up to $500; minimum $20; the maximum depends on your personal limit.1
- Monthly membership
- None
- Instant transfer
- No separate instant fee: funds are deposited instantly to your Cash balance. Each loan carries a one-time flat fee "based on your loan amount (shown before you accept)"; Cash App does not publish the fee amount or percentage.2
- Standard transfer
- Instant deposit to Cash balance (no separate delivery option).
- Tips
- No tips are described.2
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Cash App Borrow are below, each with its source. A feature of a bank or payment account; you need that account (and usually direct deposit into it).
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Instant transfer | No separate instant fee: funds are deposited instantly to your Cash balance. Each loan carries a one-time flat fee "based on your loan amount (shown before you accept)"; Cash App does not publish the fee amount or percentage.2 |
| Standard transfer | Instant deposit to Cash balance (no separate delivery option). |
| Tips | No tips are described.2 |
| Loan terms | APR: Not published; the APR is shown in each borrower's Summary of Loan Terms.. Closed-end loan with a Final Due Date set in the Summary of Loan Terms (term length not published). Optional weekly payments or 'pay as you go' before the due date; no prepayment penalty; where required by law, a pro rata refund of finance charge above 5% of the amount financed on early repayment. Military APR cap disclosure (36% MAPR) included. Not available in Colorado, Iowa or Oregon.3 |
| Initial flat fee (finance charge) | A one-time flat fee based on the loan amount, shown in the Summary of Loan Terms before you accept; amount not published.2 |
| Outstanding Balance Fee | $5 one-time fee if the balance is unpaid more than 3 calendar days after the due date; per the agreement it applies if you selected a payment schedule other than the one originally recommended.3 |
| Late fees or interest | Overdue Interest: 1.25% per week, non-compounding, on the unpaid amount financed, starting 7 days after the due date and continuing weekly until paid. Help center says Borrow is not reported to credit bureaus regardless of payment status, but late payments may affect future eligibility; the loan agreement says the Bank 'may report information about your loan to credit bureaus'.3 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “Pay only a flat fee”: The fee amount is not published; it is shown only in the loan terms before you accept. Late balances can add a $5 fee and 1.25% weekly overdue interest.
- “Borrow with no impact to your credit score”: No credit check and the help center says loans are not reported to bureaus; the loan agreement still reserves the right to report late or missed payments.
- “Borrow up to $500”: Cash App says the average first-time limit for spend-active borrowers was $153 (as of Oct. 1, 2025); the $500 figure includes a Cash App Green increase.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
How Cash App Borrow works
- Check for a Borrow offer in the Money tab > Borrow.
- Choose an amount (from $20 up to your limit) and a repayment schedule.
- Review the flat fee, APR and due date in the loan terms and accept.
- Funds are added to your Cash App balance immediately.
- Repay by your due date (all at once, weekly, or as funds come in).
Steps summarized from Cash App Help: About Borrow4.
Who can get it
18+, legal owner of the account (not a sponsored account), not a resident of Colorado, Iowa or Oregon, completed identity verification, account in good standing. "Most people become eligible to Borrow when they deposit $300+ in paychecks each month, or link an external account that receives $500+ in monthly deposits." No credit score check. Not eligible with a past-due balance.1
How it is paid back
Repay as you receive cash, in weekly installments, or all at once. Any balance outstanding on the final due date is automatically deducted from your Cash balance or linked debit card; after default, payments may continue to be taken from your Cash balance until paid.1
Which banks it works with
Only what Cash App Borrow’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
| Cash App | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
| Varo | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
| Current | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
| Chase | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
| Wells Fargo | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
| Bank of America | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
| Capital One | Own account only | “Your money is deposited instantly in your Cash balance.”1 |
State licenses and registrations
We did not find Cash App Borrow on any of the official provider lists we checked.
Not found on the official lists of: Indiana, Missouri, South Carolina, Utah. Not being on a list can have several explanations (the law may not cover this kind of product, or the provider may operate under another name or license); check with the state regulator if it matters to you.
Official record
- 2025-01-16 Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, consent order. The CFPB found Block failed to provide effective Cash App customer service and fraud protection, used card-network chargebacks instead of investigating unauthorized-transfer disputes under EFTA/Regulation E, and misrepresented its protections. The order requires $75-120 million in redress and a $55 million penalty; it concerns Cash App generally, not Borrow. Status: Post Order/Post Judgment (per CFPB page). Official document
- 2025-01-21 48 state financial regulatory agencies (multistate; announced by Kansas OSBC and others), settlement. State regulators took coordinated action against Block for Bank Secrecy Act and anti-money laundering violations; Block agreed to pay an $80 million penalty and hire an independent consultant to review its BSA/AML program. Not about Borrow. Status: Multistate settlement signed the week of January 21, 2025. Official document
- 2026-07-08 State attorneys general (multistate; announced by Colorado AG and others), settlement. A $45 million multistate settlement resolved allegations that Block misled consumers about Cash App's safety, failed to protect users from fraud, and did not provide the fraud protection and resolution it promised. Not about Borrow. Status: Settlement announced July 8, 2026. Official document
Searched: CFPB enforcement actions (Block, Inc.); State regulator releases (Kansas OSBC, California DFPI, others) on the 2025 multistate BSA/AML action; State attorney general releases (Colorado, Texas, Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina, Pennsylvania) on the 2026 multistate settlement; Government index query 'Cash App Borrow loan complaint attorney general' and 'Cash App Borrow Square Financial Services loan', 2026-10-18: no record specifically about Borrow found. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Borrow flat fee amount and APR are not published outside the in-app Summary of Loan Terms; a public fee table, if any, was not found. To be checked by a person in a normal browser at https://cash.app/help/us/en-US/90147-earn-about-fees-associated-with-borrow and in the app.
- Loan term length (weeks) is not published on the pages read.
- Conflict: help center says Borrow is never reported to credit bureaus; the SFS Borrow Loan Agreement (Dec. 2, 2025) says the Bank may report late or missed payments.
- North Carolina AG release describes 'up to $165 million' for its Cash App settlement; how that relates to the $45 million multistate figure was not checked.
Sources
- Cash App Borrow page (incl. FAQ and footnotes)
- Cash App Help: Borrow fees
- SFS Borrow Loan Agreement (Effective December 2, 2025)
- Cash App Help: About Borrow
- Cash App Access Cash page
- Cash App Help: Borrow and your credit
- CFPB enforcement action: Block, Inc. (Jan. 16, 2025)
- Kansas OSBC: Kansas Joins $80 Million Enforcement Action Against Block, Inc. (Jan. 21, 2025)
- Colorado Attorney General: $45M nationwide settlement with Block, Inc. (July 8, 2026)
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com