Cash advance app · ExtraCash
Dave: what it costs and what the record shows
Dave's ExtraCash lets eligible members overdraw a special ExtraCash deposit account by $25 to $500 and settles the balance around the next payday. Each ExtraCash transfer carries an overdraft service fee of 5% (minimum $5), membership costs up to $5 a month, and sending the money to an outside debit card adds an optional 1.5% fee.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
$11.50 to use $100 for 7 days with instant transfer, counting the required $5 monthly membership, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.
- What it is
- Cash advance app
- Who runs it
- Dave, Inc. (banking services through partner banks; Dave's help center describes a move from Evolve Bank & Trust to Coastal Community Bank)
- Most you can get
- $25-$500.1
- Monthly membership
- "Up to $5" a month. Dave's help center says the membership "provides access to" ExtraCash, and new members agree to the membership fee during sign-up. It renews monthly until cancelled in Settings > Membership; deleting the app does not cancel it.2
- Instant transfer
- Optional express fee of 1.5% of the transfer when sent to an external debit card (within 1 hour). Sending to Dave Checking is instant and free; sending to an external bank by ACH is free and takes up to 3 business days (the fee article says 2-3).3
- Standard transfer
- Free: instant to Dave Checking, or 2-3 business days by ACH to an external bank.
- Tips
- Dave's current ExtraCash fee articles list only the overdraft service fee and the optional express fee; they do not mention tips. (The FTC's 2024 complaint alleged that Dave had charged "tips" without consent in the past.)3
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Dave are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Membership | "Up to $5" a month. Dave's help center says the membership "provides access to" ExtraCash, and new members agree to the membership fee during sign-up. It renews monthly until cancelled in Settings > Membership; deleting the app does not cancel it.2 |
| Instant transfer | Optional express fee of 1.5% of the transfer when sent to an external debit card (within 1 hour). Sending to Dave Checking is instant and free; sending to an external bank by ACH is free and takes up to 3 business days (the fee article says 2-3).3 |
| Standard transfer | Free: instant to Dave Checking, or 2-3 business days by ACH to an external bank. |
| Tips | Dave's current ExtraCash fee articles list only the overdraft service fee and the optional express fee; they do not mention tips. (The FTC's 2024 complaint alleged that Dave had charged "tips" without consent in the past.)3 |
| Fee on every advance | ExtraCash overdraft service fee: the greater of $5 or 5% of each ExtraCash transfer, charged on every transfer whatever the delivery speed and added to the settlement.3 |
| Late fees or interest | Dave says ExtraCash has no interest and no late fees, and late settlements do not add late fees or affect credit.4 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “There's no credit check, interest, or late fees”: No interest or late fees, but each ExtraCash transfer has an overdraft service fee of 5% (minimum $5), membership is up to $5 a month, and delivery to an outside debit card adds 1.5%.
- “Up to $500 in 5 min or less”: ExtraCash ranges from $25 to $500 and Dave says few members qualify for $500; the 5-minute figure refers to authorization, and money sent to an outside bank by ACH can take 2-3 business days.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | $11.50 | $11.50 | 600% |
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | $11.50 | $11.50 | 300% |
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | $10 | $10 | 521% |
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days, two advances that month | $9 | $9 | 469% |
How Dave works
- Download the Dave app and tap Join Dave; create your login, enter your name and phone number, and verify your email.
- Agree to the Dave membership fee; Dave reviews your identity before you can open ExtraCash and Dave Checking accounts.
- Connect your main external bank account (through Plaid) so Dave can review balance, deposits and spending.
- Open the ExtraCash tab to see the amount you are eligible for that day.
- Choose a delivery method (Dave Checking instantly and free, external debit card for 1.5%, or external bank by ACH for free).
- On the settlement date, around your next payday, Dave collects the amount plus fees.
Steps summarized from Dave Help: Signing up for Dave6.
How it is paid back
The settlement date is set around your next payday or the nearest Friday. Dave settles automatically, trying Dave Checking first, then the linked debit card, then the external bank account by ACH. If there is not enough money, Dave takes partial amounts and tries again later. ExtraCash is described as repayable on demand, and you cannot take more ExtraCash until the balance is settled.5
Which banks it works with
Only what Dave’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Not stated by the app | — |
| Cash App | Official source says no | “Dave currently doesn't support PayPal, American Express, Discover, Cash App, Credit Karma, credit cards, most prepaid cards, or shared bank accounts.”7 |
| Varo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Current | Not stated by the app | — |
| Chase | Not stated by the app | — |
| Wells Fargo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Bank of America | Not stated by the app | — |
| Capital One | Not stated by the app | — |
State licenses and registrations
We did not find Dave on any of the official provider lists we checked.
Not found on the official lists of: Indiana, Missouri, South Carolina, Utah. Not being on a list can have several explanations (the law may not cover this kind of product, or the provider may operate under another name or license); check with the state regulator if it matters to you.
Official record
- 2024-11-05 Federal Trade Commission (U.S. District Court, C.D. Cal., No. 2:24-cv-09566), complaint (allegations). The FTC sued Dave, Inc., alleging that it misled consumers about how much they could advance, charged undisclosed fees, and charged "tips" without consent. Dave has not been found liable. Status: Pending (FTC case page). Official document
- 2024-12-30 U.S. Department of Justice on referral from the FTC (C.D. Cal., No. 2:24-cv-09566), complaint (allegations). After the FTC referred the case, DOJ filed an amended complaint that names Dave's CEO Jason Wilk as a defendant and seeks civil penalties. These are allegations. Status: Pending per the FTC case page; the court docket shows discovery orders as recently as 2026-10-06. Official document
- 2026-01-29 Mayor & City Council of Baltimore (U.S. District Court, D. Md., No. 1:26-cv-00369), complaint (allegations). Baltimore City sued Dave Inc. seeking civil penalties and injunctive relief; the case was removed to federal court (docketed 2026-01-29). The court denied Baltimore's motion to send the case back to state court on 2026-08-18. Status: Pending; Dave filed a motion to dismiss on 2026-10-08 (court docket). Official document
Searched: FTC legal library; DOJ press releases; CFPB enforcement actions; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); CourtListener federal dockets. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Whether the app still shows a tip prompt (current help articles do not mention tips).
- Original filing date of Baltimore v. Dave in state court (only the federal removal date 2026-01-29 was checked).
- Which partner bank currently holds ExtraCash accounts: the homepage names Coastal Community Bank, while an eligibility article still says the limit is at Evolve bank's discretion.
- Chime, Varo, Current, Chase, Wells Fargo, Bank of America and Capital One: Dave's help center does not name them.
Sources
- Dave homepage (footnote 1)
- Dave Help: Dave Membership
- Dave Help: What are ExtraCash Fees?
- Dave Help: How does ExtraCash work?
- Dave Help: What happens on the settlement date?
- Dave Help: Signing up for Dave
- Dave Help: Connecting your external bank account
- Dave Help: ExtraCash eligibility
- Dave Help: How do I take ExtraCash?
- Dave Help: How quickly can I get my ExtraCash?
- Dave Help: How do I change how to settle my ExtraCash?
- Dave Help: Can I have an extension?
- Dave Help: Coastal Community Bank Migration
- FTC case page: Dave, Inc., FTC v.
- FTC press release (2024-12-30): FTC refers case against Dave to DOJ
- Court docket, FTC v. Dave, Inc. (CourtListener mirror of PACER)
- Court docket, Baltimore v. Dave Inc. (CourtListener mirror of PACER)
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com