Cash advance app · Albert Instant (Instant Advance)
Albert: what it costs and what the record shows
Albert's Instant Advance sends $25 to $1,000 to an Albert Cash account, due six days later and repaid from your Smart money deposits or manually. Albert says no subscription is needed for Instant and there is no interest or late fee on an Instant Advance; moving the money to an outside account costs a fee shown in the app, and Albert also offers Instant as a line of credit with draw fees in some cases.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
Albert's help center describes the Instant advance in two different ways (a no-fee advance, and a line of credit with withdrawal fees and possible late fees whose amounts are not published), so we don't calculate a cost until that is clear. What it does publish is below.
- What it is
- Cash advance app
- Who runs it
- Albert Corporation (Albert Cash, LLC for the Albert Cash account; banking by Sutton Bank or Stride Bank, N.A.)
- Most you can get
- $25-$1,000.1
- Monthly membership
- Albert's plans are Standard ($19.99/month), Genius ($39.99/month) and Family ($39.99/month). Albert says a subscription is not required for Instant and does not change the amount you are eligible for.2
- Instant transfer
- An Instant Advance goes to your Albert Cash account instantly at no charge. Sending it on to an outside account within minutes costs an "Instant Advance Transfer Fee" that Albert shows in the app before the transfer and collects at repayment; the amount is not published. Separately, a fast transfer out of Albert Cash costs the greater of $5.99 or 1.75% of the amount, capped at $25.3
- Standard transfer
- Free and instant to Albert Cash; moving money from Albert Cash to an outside bank by ACH is free and takes 2-3 business days.
- Tips
- Albert's Terms of Use and help articles on Instant do not mention tips.3
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Albert are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Membership | Albert's plans are Standard ($19.99/month), Genius ($39.99/month) and Family ($39.99/month). Albert says a subscription is not required for Instant and does not change the amount you are eligible for.2 |
| Instant transfer | An Instant Advance goes to your Albert Cash account instantly at no charge. Sending it on to an outside account within minutes costs an "Instant Advance Transfer Fee" that Albert shows in the app before the transfer and collects at repayment; the amount is not published. Separately, a fast transfer out of Albert Cash costs the greater of $5.99 or 1.75% of the amount, capped at $25.3 |
| Standard transfer | Free and instant to Albert Cash; moving money from Albert Cash to an outside bank by ACH is free and takes 2-3 business days. |
| Tips | Albert's Terms of Use and help articles on Instant do not mention tips.3 |
| Albert Cash fast transfer | Greater of $5.99 or 1.75% of the transfer, capped at $25, for moving money from Albert Cash to a debit card within minutes.4 |
| Instant line of credit draw fees | Where Albert offers Instant as an unsecured line of credit, "draw fees may apply each time you advance" and late fees may apply if not repaid on time. The fee amounts were not found in the help center.5 |
| Late fees or interest | Albert's Terms say there is no credit check, late fees or interest for an Instant Advance. The Instant line of credit is different: its repayment article says late fees may apply.3 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “There are no late fees or interest for Albert Advances”: This holds for the Instant Advance. Albert also offers Instant as a line of credit with draw fees and possible late fees, and moving money out of Albert Cash quickly costs the greater of $5.99 or 1.75% (capped at $25).
- “Advances "up to $1,000”: Limits start at $25 and Albert says few customers qualify for $1,000.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
How Albert works
- Install the Albert app, register and connect your financial accounts.
- Open an Albert Cash account, link a debit card (Albert makes and cancels a small test charge) and keep Smart money on the "Automatic" schedule.
- On the home screen tap "Advances and loans" and follow the prompts to set up Instant.
- Select "Albert Advance", choose an amount up to your limit, and send it to Albert Cash (instant and free).
- Repay within 6 days through Smart money deposits or a manual payment; an extension of up to 7 days can be requested in the app.
Steps summarized from Albert Help: What are cash advances?7.
How it is paid back
Instant Advances are due 6 days after you take them, and you can ask in the app for an extension of up to 7 days. They are repaid from Smart money deposits (which pull money from your linked bank account) or by manual payment, and Albert may set off balances from your other Albert accounts. If repaid late, access to new advances can be suspended for 30 to 90 days or more. The advance is non-recourse: Albert says it will not use debt collection or report to credit bureaus.6
Which banks it works with
Only what Albert’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Not stated by the app | — |
| Cash App | Not stated by the app | — |
| Varo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Current | Not stated by the app | — |
| Chase | Not stated by the app | — |
| Wells Fargo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Bank of America | Not stated by the app | — |
| Capital One | Not stated by the app | — |
State licenses and registrations
We did not find Albert on any of the official provider lists we checked.
Not found on the official lists of: Indiana, Missouri, South Carolina, Utah. Not being on a list can have several explanations (the law may not cover this kind of product, or the provider may operate under another name or license); check with the state regulator if it matters to you.
Official record
We found no enforcement actions or lawsuits against Albert in the sources we searched.
Searched: FTC legal library; CFPB enforcement actions; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); No government enforcement record found as of 2026-10-18. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Instant Advance Transfer Fee amount (shown only in the app).
- Instant line of credit draw fee and late fee amounts, and which states get the line of credit instead of the advance.
- Product type: Albert's Terms say Albert Instant "may encompass several types of products: advances, loans, and lines of credit"; listed here as dtc-ewa for the Instant Advance.
- All eight banks: Albert's help center does not name them for linking (Albert Savings is held at Wells Fargo, which is not the same thing).
Sources
- Albert Help: How do I qualify for cash advances?
- Albert Help: How much does Albert cost?
- Albert's Terms of Use (last updated October 15, 2026)
- Albert Help: What are fast transfers?
- Albert Help: What is Albert Instant?
- Albert Help: How do I repay cash advances?
- Albert Help: What are cash advances?
- Albert Help: How does Instant advance repayment work?
- Albert Help: Getting set up
- Albert Help: External overdraft reimbursement policy
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com