Cash advance app · Instacash
MoneyLion: what it costs and what the record shows
MoneyLion's Instacash advances part of an upcoming paycheck to people with recurring direct deposits and takes it back on the predicted payday. Standard delivery is free, "Turbo" delivery within minutes costs 7.5% of the amount (capped at $14.99) to a MoneyLion Spend account or 9% to an outside account, and the app offers an optional tip.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
$9 to use $100 for 7 days with instant transfer, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.
- What it is
- Cash advance app
- Who runs it
- MoneyLion Technologies Inc. (Instacash is provided through its subsidiary ML Plus LLC)
- Most you can get
- Up to $500 with direct deposits to an outside bank, up to $700 with a Credit Builder Loan, up to $1,000 with recurring direct deposits to MoneyLion Spend.1
- Monthly membership
- None
- Instant transfer
- Optional Turbo delivery within minutes: 7.5% of the Instacash amount when sent to MoneyLion Spend, capped at $14.99 per request; 9% of the amount when sent to a debit card or outside bank account. The fee is added to the repayment. Turbo pricing and availability vary by state.2
- Standard transfer
- Free. One help article says standard delivery takes up to 5 business days to an outside account (about 2 business days to MoneyLion Spend); the request article says free standard delivery is only available when the money goes to MoneyLion Spend.
- Tips
- If available, the request screen lets you choose whether to leave an optional tip. MoneyLion says tips and fees do not affect eligibility, the limit or access to other products. The New York Attorney General's complaint alleges that the app pressures users to tip (an allegation).2
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for MoneyLion are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Instant transfer | Optional Turbo delivery within minutes: 7.5% of the Instacash amount when sent to MoneyLion Spend, capped at $14.99 per request; 9% of the amount when sent to a debit card or outside bank account. The fee is added to the repayment. Turbo pricing and availability vary by state.2 |
| Standard transfer | Free. One help article says standard delivery takes up to 5 business days to an outside account (about 2 business days to MoneyLion Spend); the request article says free standard delivery is only available when the money goes to MoneyLion Spend. |
| Tips | If available, the request screen lets you choose whether to leave an optional tip. MoneyLion says tips and fees do not affect eligibility, the limit or access to other products. The New York Attorney General's complaint alleges that the app pressures users to tip (an allegation).2 |
| Optional memberships (not required for Instacash) | MoneyLion One costs $9.99/month unless at least $500 in eligible direct deposits arrive in MoneyLion Spend each 30 days; Credit Builder Plus costs $19.99/month. The help center says Instacash has "no mandatory fees".3 |
| Turbo Transfer out of MoneyLion Spend | Moving money from a MoneyLion Spend account to a linked debit card with Turbo Transfer costs 2% of the amount.4 |
| Late fees or interest | MoneyLion says Instacash has no interest and no mandatory fees and is not reported to credit bureaus. The help center does not list late fees; an unpaid balance blocks new advances until it is repaid.5 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “No interest, no mandatory fees, and no credit check”: No interest and no required fee for standard delivery, but Turbo delivery costs 7.5% (to MoneyLion Spend, capped at $14.99) or 9% (to outside accounts), and the app offers an optional tip.
- “Instacash "up to $1,000”: $1,000 requires recurring direct deposits into a MoneyLion Spend account; with an outside bank the cap is $500, and each request is limited to $100 or $200.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | $9 | $9 | 469% |
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | $9 | $9 | 235% |
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | $0 | $0 | 0% |
How MoneyLion works
- Link the checking account that receives your paycheck; it must be at least 60 days old and show at least three recurring direct deposits from the same employer or payer.
- Verify your identity if asked (photo ID and selfie) and accept the Instacash terms.
- Tap Request on the Instacash dashboard; you may be asked to save a debit card as a backup for repayment.
- Choose the amount and where to send it (MoneyLion Spend allows up to $200 per request, most other destinations $100), and standard or Turbo delivery.
- Optionally add a tip, review the repayment date and total, and confirm.
- On the scheduled date MoneyLion debits the advance plus any Turbo fee and tip.
Steps summarized from MoneyLion Help: How to request Instacash2.
How it is paid back
Repayment is debited automatically on a date set from your predicted direct deposit, from your linked debit card, MoneyLion Spend or the linked outside bank account. If funds are short, MoneyLion first tries a partial repayment and keeps trying until the balance is paid. You may move the date in the app, or defer once per cycle by up to two weeks through chat. You can revoke the debit authorization with at least three business days' notice.6
Which banks it works with
Only what MoneyLion’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Not stated by the app | — |
| Cash App | Not stated by the app | — |
| Varo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Current | Not stated by the app | — |
| Chase | Not stated by the app | — |
| Wells Fargo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Bank of America | Not stated by the app | — |
| Capital One | Not stated by the app | — |
State licenses and registrations
- Indiana: listed as “ML Plus LLC” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Missouri: listed as “ML Plus LLC” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- South Carolina: listed as “ML Plus, LLC” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Utah: listed as “ML PLUS LLC DBA: MONEYLION” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
Official record
- 2022-09-29 Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (U.S. District Court, S.D.N.Y., No. 1:22-cv-08308), complaint (allegations). The CFPB sued MoneyLion and its lending subsidiaries over installment loans and memberships sold to military borrowers, alleging Military Lending Act violations and that consumers with unpaid loans were not allowed to leave the membership program. The case concerned loans and memberships, not Instacash. Status: Resolved by the stipulated final judgment entered 2025-11-24 (next record). Official document
- 2025-11-24 Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (S.D.N.Y.), judgment. The court entered a stipulated final judgment and order resolving the CFPB's claims; it requires the defendants to pay $1.75 million in consumer redress. Status: Post Order/Post Judgment (CFPB page, last modified 2025-12-01). Official document
- 2025-04-14 New York Attorney General (New York State Supreme Court, New York County), complaint (allegations). New York's Attorney General sued MoneyLion, alleging that Instacash advances are illegal high-interest payday loans under New York usury law, that it advertises a 0% rate and $500 advances deceptively, and that it pressures users to tip. These are allegations. Status: MoneyLion moved the case to federal court (S.D.N.Y. No. 1:25-cv-04093); on 2025-11-12 the federal court sent it back to state court. Later state-court status was not checked. Official document
- 2025-11-10 Mayor & City Council of Baltimore (U.S. District Court, D. Md., No. 1:25-cv-03692), complaint (allegations). Baltimore City sued MoneyLion Technologies Inc. seeking civil penalties and injunctive relief; the case was docketed in federal court on 2025-11-10 after removal from state court. Status: Pending; MoneyLion's motion to dismiss was fully briefed with its reply on 2026-10-02 (court docket). Official document
- 2023-11-14 Colorado Attorney General, settlement. MoneyLion settled Colorado's finding that it collected illegal membership fees tied to loans, agreeing to stop lending in Colorado under that membership model, return $271,000 to consumers and pay $75,000 to the state. This concerned loans and memberships, not Instacash. Status: Settled. Official document
Searched: CFPB enforcement actions; FTC legal library; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); CourtListener federal dockets. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Standard (free) delivery to outside accounts: two help articles disagree on whether it is offered.
- State-specific Instacash pricing for Connecticut, Maryland, Indiana and Wisconsin.
- Status of the New York AG case in state court after the 2025-11-12 remand.
- Original state-court filing date of Baltimore v. MoneyLion.
- All eight banks: MoneyLion's help center does not say whether these banks can be linked for Instacash.
Sources
- MoneyLion Help: Determining Instacash Limits
- MoneyLion Help: How to request Instacash
- MoneyLion Help: What happens to my MoneyLion One membership if my direct deposit drops below $500?
- MoneyLion Help: Does MoneyLion Turbo Transfer have any fees?
- MoneyLion Help: What is Instacash?
- MoneyLion Help: Repaying Instacash
- MoneyLion Help: Qualifying for Instacash
- MoneyLion Help: Calculating Instacash Repayment
- MoneyLion Help: Deferring Instacash Repayment
- MoneyLion Help: MoneyLion WOW Membership Transition
- MoneyLion Help: MoneyLion Membership Disclaimers
- CFPB enforcement action: MoneyLion Technologies Inc., ML Plus, LLC, and other subsidiaries
- New York Attorney General press release (2025-04-14)
- Court docket, People of the State of New York v. MoneyLion Inc., S.D.N.Y. 1:25-cv-04093 (CourtListener mirror of PACER)
- Court docket, Baltimore v. MoneyLion Technologies Inc. (CourtListener mirror of PACER)
- Colorado Attorney General press release (2023-11-14)
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com