Cash advance app · Instant Cash
Brigit: what it costs and what the record shows
Brigit offers Instant Cash advances of $25 to $500 to members whose checking account shows regular deposits, taken back automatically on a due date you pick. Advances normally come with a Plus ($8.99/month) or Premium ($15.99/month) plan; Plus members pay an optional express fee for delivery within about 20 minutes, while standard delivery is free.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
Brigit does not publish every fee we would need to price a $100 advance, so we don’t show an APR. What it does publish is below.
- What it is
- Cash advance app
- Who runs it
- Bridge IT, Inc. d/b/a Brigit (its help center says Brigit agreed to join Upbound Group)
- Most you can get
- $25-$500 (Maine residents $25-$250).1
- Monthly membership
- Plus is $8.99/month and Premium is $15.99/month (Premium includes free Express Delivery and Credit Builder); the Terms of Service give the Plus range as $5.99-$9.99. A subscription is not strictly required: Section 7.7 of the Terms says eligible users can get an advance without subscribing by emailing terms1@hellobrigit.com. The fee is charged at the end of each billing period, so a final charge can fall after you cancel.2
- Instant transfer
- Optional Express Fee of $0.99 to $5.99 for delivery to a linked debit card, typically within 20 minutes. For non-Premium users the fee can vary with the advance size, up to $5.99, and is collected when you repay. Premium members pay no express fee. Brigit does not publish the fee for each advance size.3
- Standard transfer
- Free; 1-3 business days by ACH (same day if requested before 10:00 a.m. ET on a business day).
- Tips
- Brigit's Terms of Service and help-center fee articles do not describe tips.3
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Brigit are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Membership | Plus is $8.99/month and Premium is $15.99/month (Premium includes free Express Delivery and Credit Builder); the Terms of Service give the Plus range as $5.99-$9.99. A subscription is not strictly required: Section 7.7 of the Terms says eligible users can get an advance without subscribing by emailing terms1@hellobrigit.com. The fee is charged at the end of each billing period, so a final charge can fall after you cancel.2 |
| Instant transfer | Optional Express Fee of $0.99 to $5.99 for delivery to a linked debit card, typically within 20 minutes. For non-Premium users the fee can vary with the advance size, up to $5.99, and is collected when you repay. Premium members pay no express fee. Brigit does not publish the fee for each advance size.3 |
| Standard transfer | Free; 1-3 business days by ACH (same day if requested before 10:00 a.m. ET on a business day). |
| Tips | Brigit's Terms of Service and help-center fee articles do not describe tips.3 |
| Late fees or interest | Brigit says it has no late fees or penalties. The Terms say repayment is voluntary and Brigit has no legal claim for unpaid advances.4 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “No fee or charge is required to obtain an advance" (Terms of Service)”: True only on the no-subscription route, which requires emailing Brigit. The route the help center describes first is a Plus ($8.99/month) or Premium ($15.99/month) plan, and express delivery costs up to $5.99 for non-Premium members.
- “Get up to $500”: Brigit says most members qualify for $50-$100; the average advance from 2/2018 to 7/2025 was $73.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | $0 | $0 | 0% |
How Brigit works
- Link your primary checking account (Brigit connects through Plaid).
- Meet the eligibility checks: at least 60 days of account history, a balance above $0, and at least three recurring deposits from the same source.
- Subscribe to Plus or Premium, or email terms1@hellobrigit.com to ask for an advance without a subscription.
- Request an amount and a due date, then choose free standard delivery (1-3 business days) or express delivery (fee unless Premium).
- Brigit withdraws the advance automatically on the due date; extensions can be requested in the app before then.
Steps summarized from Brigit Help: How does Brigit work?5.
How it is paid back
Brigit automatically withdraws the advance plus any optional fee on the due date chosen when you request the advance. The Terms also allow a debit any time after the due date when money comes into the account, partial debits if the full amount fails, and retries on other authorized payment methods. You can push the due date back with an extension credit (the help center says two to three business days before it is due). If you don't repay, Brigit suspends future advances but says it will not use debt collection or report to credit bureaus.3
Which banks it works with
Only what Brigit’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Not stated by the app | — |
| Cash App | Not stated by the app | — |
| Varo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Current | Not stated by the app | — |
| Chase | Not stated by the app | — |
| Wells Fargo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Bank of America | Not stated by the app | — |
| Capital One | Not stated by the app | — |
State licenses and registrations
- Indiana: listed as “Bridge IT, Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Missouri: listed as “Bridge It, Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- South Carolina: listed as “Bridge IT, Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Utah: listed as “BRIDGE IT, INC. DBA: BRIGIT” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
Official record
- 2023-11-02 Federal Trade Commission (U.S. District Court, S.D.N.Y., No. 1:23-cv-09651), settlement. The FTC alleged that Brigit's promises of "instant" advances of up to $250 were deceptive and that its $9.99 monthly membership was hard to cancel. Brigit agreed to a court order requiring $18 million in consumer refunds and changes to its marketing and cancellation; the court entered the order on 2023-11-14. Status: Stipulated order entered 2023-11-14; the FTC case page lists the case as Pending. Official document
- 2024-11-04 Federal Trade Commission, order. The FTC announced it was sending more than $17 million in refunds to Brigit customers under the 2023 order. Status: Refunds sent (FTC announcement). Official document
- 2026-06-10 Minnesota Attorney General, complaint (allegations). Minnesota's Attorney General sued Bridge It, Inc. (Brigit), alleging that Instant Cash advances are unlicensed small and short-term loans under Minnesota payday-lending law, with APRs that often exceed 300%. These are allegations. Status: Filed; no later official update located as of 2026-10-18. Official document
Searched: FTC legal library; CFPB enforcement actions; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); CourtListener federal dockets. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Express Fee for each advance size (the Terms give only a $0.99-$5.99 range; the fee is shown in the app).
- Current Plus price for each member: the help center says $8.99, the Terms say $5.99-$9.99.
- Whether the Upbound acquisition has closed (the help center says Brigit "will be a part of Upbound").
- All eight banks: Brigit's help center only says it supports 6,000+ institutions through Plaid and names none.
- Status of the Minnesota lawsuit after filing.
Sources
- Brigit Help: Will everyone qualify for $500?
- Brigit Help: How much does Brigit cost?
- Brigit Terms of Service
- Brigit Help: Does Brigit charge late fees or penalties?
- Brigit Help: How does Brigit work?
- Brigit Help: When will I get the Brigit advance?
- Brigit Help: Is there a free option for receiving an advance?
- Brigit Help: When do I pay back the advance?
- Brigit Help: Can I change my advance due date?
- Brigit Help: Eligibility Requirements
- Brigit Help: What Banks Does Brigit Work With?
- Brigit Help: What does it mean that Brigit will be a part of Upbound?
- Brigit Help: When will I be billed for my Brigit subscription?
- FTC case page: Bridge It, Inc., FTC v. (Brigit)
- Minnesota Attorney General press release (2026-06-10)
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com