Cash advance app · Float
FloatMe: what it costs and what the record shows
FloatMe is a subscription app that offers small cash advances it calls Floats, repaid in one payment on a date you choose or confirm. Membership is $6.99 a month, standard ACH delivery is free, and instant delivery costs $1 to $10 depending on the Float amount.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
$7.50 to use $100 for 7 days with instant transfer, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.
- What it is
- Cash advance app
- Who runs it
- FloatMe Corp. (NMLS ID #2596392)
- Most you can get
- Up to $200 per Float.1
- Monthly membership
- Membership costs $6.99/month and auto-renews until cancelled in the app or by email; uninstalling the app or disconnecting the bank does not cancel it. The terms say you may get a Float without paying the membership fee by emailing nocost@floatme.com with the subject line "No Cost".2
- Instant transfer
- Instant Float fee by Float amount: $10 = $1.00; $20 = $3.00; $30 = $4.00; $40 = $5.00; $50 = $5.00; $80 = $7.50; $100 = $7.50; $150 = $9.00; $200 = $10.00. The fee is debited when you repay. Indiana: capped at the greater of 5% of the Float or $5.00. Maryland: capped at $5.00 for Floats of $75 or less and $7.50 above $75.2
- Standard transfer
- Free via ACH; generally 1 to 3 business days.
- Tips
- No tip feature is described in the terms or help center. The terms state that for Maryland residents FloatMe is prohibited by law from soliciting or retaining tips.2
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for FloatMe are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Membership | Membership costs $6.99/month and auto-renews until cancelled in the app or by email; uninstalling the app or disconnecting the bank does not cancel it. The terms say you may get a Float without paying the membership fee by emailing nocost@floatme.com with the subject line "No Cost".2 |
| Instant transfer | Instant Float fee by Float amount: $10 = $1.00; $20 = $3.00; $30 = $4.00; $40 = $5.00; $50 = $5.00; $80 = $7.50; $100 = $7.50; $150 = $9.00; $200 = $10.00. The fee is debited when you repay. Indiana: capped at the greater of 5% of the Float or $5.00. Maryland: capped at $5.00 for Floats of $75 or less and $7.50 above $75.2 $10–$10: $1$20–$20: $3$30–$30: $4$40–$40: $5$50–$50: $5$80–$80: $7.50$100–$100: $7.50$150–$150: $9$200–$200: $10 |
| Standard transfer | Free via ACH; generally 1 to 3 business days. |
| Tips | No tip feature is described in the terms or help center. The terms state that for Maryland residents FloatMe is prohibited by law from soliciting or retaining tips.2 |
| Fees generally non-refundable | Instant Float Fees and Membership Fees are generally non-refundable; refunds or waivers are at FloatMe's discretion.2 |
| Bank fees | FloatMe says it is not responsible for overdraft or other bank fees caused by an insufficient balance in your linked account.2 |
| Late fees or interest | No interest and no late fees. Floats are nonrecourse: FloatMe says it has no legal claim against you for non-repayment, will not use debt collection or sell the debt, and will not report you to a consumer reporting agency. You cannot get another Float while any amount is unpaid.2 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “no interest, no credit check, and no late fees”: No interest or late fees, but membership is $6.99/month unless you use the email-only no-cost option, and Instant Floats cost $1 to $10 each.
- “Standard Delivery is always free”: True for ACH, which generally takes 1 to 3 business days; getting money in seconds costs the Instant Float fee.
- “Get up to a $200 Float”: FloatMe's own footnote says first approvals range from $10 to $50 and the average Float was $53 as of July 1, 2026.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | $7.50 | $7.50 | 391% |
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | $7.50 | $7.50 | 196% |
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | $0 | $0 | 0% |
How FloatMe works
- Download the FloatMe app and sign up.
- Connect the checking account where your income is deposited.
- FloatMe reviews your account activity (no credit check) to decide whether you qualify.
- Request a Float and choose standard (free) or Instant (fee) delivery.
- Receive the money in your bank account.
- The Float is repaid automatically on your repayment date.
Steps summarized from FloatMe: How it works4.
Who can get it
18+, U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident with a U.S. address; not available to residents of Connecticut, Nevada (since Jan. 1, 2025), the District of Columbia or U.S. territories (terms). You need a linked checking account (savings accounts not supported) that receives at least $150 per pay period for two consecutive pay periods from an eligible income source on consistent dates (help center). FloatMe also applies a minimum bank balance it does not publish.3
How it is paid back
Each Float is repaid in a single payment on the Repayment Date you choose or confirm, debited by ACH or debit card together with any Instant Float Fee. FloatMe starts the ACH debit the business day before the Repayment Date. If a payment fails it may retry by ACH or debit card, and it will not re-initiate a returned ACH debit more than two times. Only one Float at a time.2
Which banks it works with
Only what FloatMe’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
| Cash App | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
| Varo | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
| Current | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
| Chase | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
| Wells Fargo | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
| Bank of America | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
| Capital One | Not stated by the app | “FloatMe works with thousands of banks and credit unions to make sure everyone has the opportunity to stay afloat between paychecks.”5 |
State licenses and registrations
- Indiana: listed as “FloatMe Corp.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Missouri: listed as “FloatMe Corp” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- South Carolina: listed as “FloatMe, Corp.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Utah: listed as “FLOATME CORP.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
Official record
- 2024-01-23 Federal Trade Commission (U.S. District Court, W.D. Texas), settlement. The FTC alleged that FloatMe and its co-founders made deceptive claims about advance amounts and about an algorithm that would raise limits, made cancellation difficult, and declined advances to consumers relying on public-assistance income. The stipulated court order required $3 million (mainly for refunds), a ban on deceptive claims, an easy cancellation method and a fair lending program. Status: Order entered January 23, 2024 (announced January 24, 2024). FTC refund page: first payments in September 2024 (over $1.5 million); a second round of 255,739 payments totaling over $1 million. Official document
- 2026-01-05 Massachusetts (data breach notice posted on Mass.gov), data breach notice. FloatMe's notice says that on December 8, 2025 a malicious actor tried to access user accounts with login credentials obtained from a non-FloatMe source; for a subset of accounts that were accessed, mailing address, phone number, last four digits of a bank account or debit card, and the last five linked-account transactions were involved. FloatMe says it reset passwords and cancelled advances fraudulently initiated from affected accounts. Status: Notice letter dated January 5, 2026; not an enforcement action. Official document
Searched: FTC cases, press releases and refunds (ftc.gov); CFPB enforcement actions (consumerfinance.gov): no FloatMe action found; State regulator and attorney general sites via the government index (DFPI, Mass.gov and others); Government index query 'FloatMe', 2026-10-18. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Conflict: the homepage footnote says first-time approvals are $10-$50, while the help article 'Can my Float limit increase?' says members start 'up to $50' but also that 'your first Float is limited to $100'. Not resolved.
- The minimum bank balance FloatMe requires is not published.
- FloatMe's help center does not name specific banks (Chime, Cash App, Varo, Current, Chase, etc.); its search is not readable without JavaScript.
- State licenses listed on floatme.com/nmls (CA, MO, KS, MD, UT, TX, SC, IN) were not cross-checked in NMLS Consumer Access.
Sources
- FloatMe homepage (footnotes)
- FloatMe Terms and Conditions (Last Revised September 1, 2026)
- FloatMe Help: Why do I need recurring income?
- FloatMe: How it works
- FloatMe Help: How do I connect my checking account?
- FloatMe licenses page
- FloatMe Help: Can my Float limit increase?
- FloatMe Help: When will I receive my Float?
- FloatMe Help: Does FloatMe charge late fees or penalties?
- FloatMe Help: Why don't I meet the bank balance requirement?
- FTC press release, Jan. 24, 2024
- FTC: FloatMe Refunds
- Mass.gov data breach notice 2026-14 (FloatMe Corp.)
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com