Cash Advance Clear

Employer pay-advance service · Payactiv Earned Wage Access

Payactiv: what it costs and what the record shows

Payactiv works through employers and lets workers access a portion of wages they have already earned, which is then deducted from the next paycheck. ACH transfers are free; real-time transfers cost $2.49 or $3.49 depending on the destination, and are free to a Payactiv Visa Card that receives a $200+ direct deposit each pay period.

Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.

182%APR

$3.49 to use $100 for 7 days with real-time transfer to a non-Payactiv debit card, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.

What it is
Employer pay-advance service
Who runs it
Payactiv, Inc. (Wisconsin DFI EWA license 2591928EWA; affiliated programs UKG Wallet and OnShift Wallet)
Most you can get
"A portion of wages you already earned"; no maximum dollar amount is published.1
Monthly membership
None
Instant transfer
Real-time transfer to a Payactiv Visa Card (incl. affiliate cards): no fee with one successful direct deposit of $200+ to the card per pay period, otherwise $2.49 load fee. Real-time transfer to a non-Payactiv debit or payroll card, Walmart Cash Pickup, or Venmo/PayPal (with preexisting Visa+ payname): $3.49. Disbursement options may vary by location.2
Standard transfer
ACH bank transfer: no fee, 1-3 business days. Uber rides, Amazon load and bill pay also listed as no fee.
Tips
No tip request is described on Payactiv's pricing page.2

Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Payactiv are below, each with its source. Offered through your employer, which shares your hours and pay with the provider; the advance comes out of your paycheck.

What you pay

ChargeWhat the company says
Instant transferReal-time transfer to a Payactiv Visa Card (incl. affiliate cards): no fee with one successful direct deposit of $200+ to the card per pay period, otherwise $2.49 load fee. Real-time transfer to a non-Payactiv debit or payroll card, Walmart Cash Pickup, or Venmo/PayPal (with preexisting Visa+ payname): $3.49. Disbursement options may vary by location.2
Standard transferACH bank transfer: no fee, 1-3 business days. Uber rides, Amazon load and bill pay also listed as no fee.
TipsNo tip request is described on Payactiv's pricing page.2
Payactiv Visa Card feesPricing FAQ: fees may apply for some money transfers and withdrawals, foreign transactions, out-of-network ATMs (MoneyPass ATMs free) and cash loads at retail stores; see the Cardholder Agreement and Fee Schedule at payactiv.com/card411.2
EnrollmentPricing FAQ: no cost to get started and no enrollment or activation fees.2
Late fees or interestNo interest or late fee is described on Payactiv's public pages. Amounts accessed are deducted from your next paycheck through payroll.3

What the marketing says, and what it leaves out

The real cost, worked out

Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.

ExampleYou payPer $100APR
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days$3.49$3.49182%
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days$3.49$3.4991%
$100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days$0$00%

How Payactiv works

  1. Work your scheduled shifts; Payactiv gets the data from your employer.
  2. Open the Payactiv app to see the earned wages available to you.
  3. Transfer what you need: free ACH (1-3 business days) or a real-time option (fee depends on destination).
  4. Use the app's other tools (bill pay, savings goals) if wanted.
  5. On payday, the amount accessed is deducted from your paycheck and shown on your pay stub.

Steps summarized from Payactiv for employees (How it works)3.

Who can get it

Your employer must offer Payactiv (or UKG Wallet / OnShift Wallet). Payactiv receives your worked-shift data from your employer. The free real-time option requires one successful direct deposit of $200+ to the Payactiv Visa Card per pay period.3

How it is paid back

"Money you access is automatically deducted from your next paycheck and shows as a line item on your pay stub."3

Which banks it works with

Only what Payactiv’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.

Bank or accountStatusWhat the app says
ChimeNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2
Cash AppNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2
VaroNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2
CurrentNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2
ChaseNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2
Wells FargoNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2
Bank of AmericaNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2
Capital OneNot stated by the app“ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2

State licenses and registrations

Official record

Searched: CFPB newsroom and enforcement (consumerfinance.gov); FTC: no Payactiv action found; California DFPI (only Payactiv comment letters found); Mass.gov data breach notices (a Payactiv notice 2025-1758 exists but its posted letter is a template without incident date or details; not recorded); Government index queries 'Payactiv', 'Payactiv sandbox approval order terminated', 2026-10-18. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.

Cheaper ways to cover a gap

Details and official links for each option

What we could not confirm

Sources

  1. Payactiv Earned Wage Access page
  2. Payactiv Pricing
  3. Payactiv for employees (How it works)
  4. Payactiv Terms of Use
  5. CFPB press release: CFPB Rescinds Special Regulatory Treatment for Payactiv (June 30, 2022)
  6. CFPB press release: Approval Order to PayActiv (Dec. 30, 2020)

All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com