Cash advance app
Cleo: what it costs and what the record shows
Cleo is a budgeting chat app that offers cash advances of $20 to $250 ($20 to $100 for first-time users), repaid automatically on a date 3 to 14 days later. Cleo says advances come with a Plus, Pro or Builder subscription (or by emailing support), standard delivery is free, and same-day delivery costs a fee of up to $14.99.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
Cleo does not publish every fee we would need to price a $100 advance, so we don’t show an APR. What it does publish is below.
- What it is
- Cash advance app
- Who runs it
- Cleo AI, Inc. (the App Store listing names the seller as Cleo AI Ltd)
- Most you can get
- $20-$250 ($20-$100 for first-time users).1
- Monthly membership
- Cleo says the simplest way to get an advance is to subscribe to Plus, Pro or Builder; you can instead ask for an advance without subscribing by emailing team@meetcleo.com (normal eligibility checks still apply). Subscription prices were not checked from an official page.2
- Instant transfer
- Optional same-day delivery for an express fee of $4.49-$14.99 depending on the amount (Cleo FAQ, Aug 10, 2026; the App Store disclosure says $3.99-$14.99). The fee is paid with the repayment. Cleo does not publish the fee for each amount.2
- Standard transfer
- Free; arrives in 3-4 days.
- Tips
- Cleo's FAQ says the only extra amount you might pay on top of an advance is the express fee; it does not mention tips.3
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Cleo are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Membership | Cleo says the simplest way to get an advance is to subscribe to Plus, Pro or Builder; you can instead ask for an advance without subscribing by emailing team@meetcleo.com (normal eligibility checks still apply). Subscription prices were not checked from an official page.2 |
| Instant transfer | Optional same-day delivery for an express fee of $4.49-$14.99 depending on the amount (Cleo FAQ, Aug 10, 2026; the App Store disclosure says $3.99-$14.99). The fee is paid with the repayment. Cleo does not publish the fee for each amount.2 |
| Standard transfer | Free; arrives in 3-4 days. |
| Tips | Cleo's FAQ says the only extra amount you might pay on top of an advance is the express fee; it does not mention tips.3 |
| Late fees or interest | Cleo says you will never pay interest on a cash advance, and its App Store disclosure lists no late fees.3 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “Get up to a $250 cash advance" with "No interest (APR)" (App Store listing)”: No interest, but first-time users can get at most $100, same-day delivery costs $4.49-$14.99 (App Store: $3.99-$14.99), and the usual route is a paid subscription.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | Not calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit | ||
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | $0 | $0 | 0% |
How Cleo works
- Download Cleo and connect your bank account so Cleo can see your income.
- Subscribe to Plus, Pro or Builder, or email team@meetcleo.com to ask for an advance without a subscription.
- Open Request (previously Borrow) to see how much you qualify for.
- Choose the amount and a repayment date 3 to 14 days away.
- Choose same-day delivery (express fee) or free standard delivery (3-4 days).
- Cleo debits your connected account or card on the repayment date.
Steps summarized from Cleo FAQ: How do I request a cash advance? (Aug 10, 2026)2.
How it is paid back
Cleo takes the money automatically from your connected card or account on the repayment date you chose (3 to 14 days after the advance). If a payment fails for insufficient funds, Cleo either collects smaller partial amounts over the following days (if you opted in to Partial Repayments) or keeps trying for the full amount while your debit authorization is active. You may be able to extend the date in the app.4
Which banks it works with
Only what Cleo’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Not stated by the app | — |
| Cash App | Not stated by the app | — |
| Varo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Current | Not stated by the app | — |
| Chase | Not stated by the app | — |
| Wells Fargo | Not stated by the app | — |
| Bank of America | Not stated by the app | — |
| Capital One | Not stated by the app | — |
State licenses and registrations
- Indiana: listed as “Cleo AI Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Missouri: listed as “Cleo Al Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- South Carolina: listed as “Cleo AI, Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Utah: listed as “CLEO AI INC. DBA: CLEO” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
Official record
- 2025-03-27 Federal Trade Commission (U.S. District Court, S.D.N.Y.), settlement. The FTC alleged that Cleo AI misled consumers about how much money they could get and how fast, and made its subscription hard to cancel. Cleo agreed to pay $17 million under a stipulated court order filed with the complaint. Status: Settled; the FTC case page lists the case as Pending. Official document
- 2026-10-08 Federal Trade Commission, order. The FTC announced it was sending more than $15.8 million to consumers affected by Cleo AI's practices, under the 2025 settlement. Status: Refunds being sent (FTC announcement). Official document
Searched: FTC legal library; CFPB enforcement actions; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); CourtListener federal dockets. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Subscription prices for Plus, Pro and Builder: https://web.meetcleo.com/products/pricing, to be checked by a person in a normal browser.
- Express-fee range: the FAQ says $4.49-$14.99 and the App Store says $3.99-$14.99; the fee for each amount is not published.
- Supported banks: https://web.meetcleo.com/faqs/en/articles/5488385-what-banks-does-cleo-support, to be checked by a person in a normal browser.
- Cleo's Terms (https://web.meetcleo.com/page/term-conditions) were not read for advance-specific terms.
Sources
- Cleo AI: Cash Advance & Budget, Apple App Store listing (legal disclosures)
- Cleo FAQ: How do I request a cash advance? (Aug 10, 2026)
- Cleo FAQ: Will I pay interest on my cash advance?
- Cleo FAQ: How do I repay my cash advance?
- FTC case page: Cleo AI, Inc., FTC v.
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? hello@cashadvanceclear.com